Search Search Toggle
Slider Accent

Friends of New Bern Firemen's Museum Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Friends of New Bern Firemen’s Museum, Inc. shall consist of eleven (11) members, including two (2) ex officio directors.  Each director, other than ex officio directors, shall hold office for a term of three (3) years, or until his successor shall have been elected and qualified.  Directors shall be citizens and residents of the City of New Bern.  The directors shall maintain a record of the terms of office of each director, shall notify the Board of Aldermen of the City of New Bern at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of any term so that the Board of Aldermen may appoint a director to serve for the upcoming term, and shall recommend to the Board of Aldermen proposed candidates to serve as directors for the upcoming term. The ex-officio members of the board shall be the fire chief of the New Bern Fire-Rescue department and the deputy chief of the Volunteer Division, or such person’s designee.  Each ex-officio director shall hold office until his or her death, resignation, retirement or disqualification.  All other directors shall be determined by a majority vote of the Board of Aldermen.

Directors may be removed from office at any time with or without cause by a vote of five (5) of the six (6) Aldermen for the City.  Any vacancy occurring in the board shall be filled by the Board of Aldermen.  A director elected to fill a vacancy shall be elected for the unexpired term of his predecessor in office.

The purpose of Friends of New Bern Firemen’s Museum, Inc. is to engage in charitable, philanthropic, cultural enrichment and education activities, including, but not limited to, supporting the mission of the New Bern Firemen’s Museum.  The business and affairs of the corporation shall be managed by its Board of Directors. The Board of Directors meets at 9:00 a.m. on the third Tuesday of each month at the New Bern Firemen’s Museum, located at 408 Hancock Street.

Board of Directors & Term Expiration
George Halyak 4/22/2025  
John Meehan 4/22/2025  
Dave Finn 4/22/2025  
Wayne Unangst 4/22/2026  
Henry Watson 4/22/2026  
Elona Fowler 4/22/2026  
Gary Lingman 4/22/2024  
Daniel Ensor 4/22/2024  
Gary Clemmons 4/22/2024  
Jim McConnell
(NBFR Interim Chief)
N/A Ex Officio*
Bobby Aster
(Volunteer Deputy Chief)
N/A Ex Officio*