Slider Accent

Housing Authority Board of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners of the Housing Authority of the City of New Bern consists of eleven (11) members, ten (10) of whom are appointed by the Mayor.  The Mayor shall designate overlapping terms of not less than one (1) nor more than five (5) years for the initial appointments.  Subsequent terms shall be for five (5) years.  A member may be reappointed by the Mayor at the expiration of his or her term, and there is no limit as to the number of terms a member may serve.  The eleventh member shall be a resident from any housing project or program administered by the Housing Authority.  Appointment to this seat shall be made in accordance with the procedures outlined in the Resident Commissioner Policy approved by the Board of Commissioners.  The term of office for the resident commissioner shall be the same length as designated for all other board members and the resident commissioner shall have all the same rights and privileges as the other members of the board.

The Housing Authority Board is responsible for establishing policy and determining the direction and course the Housing Authority shall take in achieving its goal of providing safe, decent, sanitary and affordable housing to low and very-low income families.  The Board shall abide by all federal, state, county and city laws, rules, regulations and ordinances when fulfilling the duties of their office.

The Housing Authority Board meets at 4:30 p.m. on the third Monday of each month at 836 South Front Street in New Bern.

Current Roster
Seat  Name  Term Expires 
 1 Steve Strickland 12/21/2020 
 2 Joe Anderson 12/21/2021
 3 Pete Monte 12/21/2022 
 4 Barbara Lee  12/21/2018
 5 Rob Overman  12/21/2019
 6 Molichia Hardy  11/16/2022 
 7 Willie Newkirk 11/16/2018 
 8 William "Bill" Frederick 11/16/2019 
 9 Carol Becton  11/16/2020
 10 Denise Harris-Powell 8/28/2021
 11  Thomas Hardin 8/28/2018