Search Search Toggle
Slider Accent

About the Planning & Zoning Board

The New Bern Planning and Zoning Board consists of eight members. Seven members, appointed by the Board of Aldermen, shall reside within the city. One member, appointed by the Craven County Board of Commissioners, shall reside within the city’s extraterritorial planning area. If the Craven County board fails to make these appointments within 90 days after receiving a resolution from the Board of Aldermen requesting that they be made, the city board may make the appointments.  Members may be removed by the appointing authority at any time for failure to attend three consecutive meetings without excuse or for failure to attend 30 percent or more of the meetings within any 12-month period or, after a hearing, for other good cause related to performance of duties.  All members shall have demonstrated special interest, experience, or education in banking, economics, environmental and land use policy, housing, or industry.

Board members shall be appointed for three-year staggered terms, but members may continue to serve until their successors have been appointed.  Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired terms only.  Membership appointments shall be limited to two successive terms.

All members may participate in and vote on all issues before the board, regardless of whether the issue affects property within the city or within the extraterritorial planning area.

The board’s major responsibilities are to make recommendations concerning zoning modifications, subdivision general plans, zoning amendments proposals, and make studies and recommendations to the Board of Aldermen for plans, goals and objectives relating to the growth, development and redevelopment of the City.

The Board meets at 5:30 p.m. in the City Hall Courtroom on the 2nd floor, 300 Pollock Street unless otherwise noticed. 

Want to Serve? 

Want to serve on the Planning and Zoning Board? Complete and submit this short form by clicking here and return it to the city clerk at City Hall, located at 300 Pollock Street, Monday through Friday between 8am and 5pm (excluding holidays). The clerk will contact you when an opening occurs. 

Current Roster

Seat Name Term Expires Appointing Official
1 Donald "Rusty" Ingram 6/30/2025 Ward 1 Alderman
2 Margie Dunn 6/30/2024 Ward 2 Alderman
3 Gasper "Sonny" Aluzzo 6/30/2024 Ward 3 Alderman
4 Thomas Brownell 6/30/2026 Ward 4 Alderman
5 Kyle Dearing 6/30/2025 Ward 5 Alderman
6 Kellie Kiser 6/30/2026 Ward 6 Alderman
7 Brad Jefferson 6/30/2025 Mayor
8 Marshall Ballard 6/30/2025 Craven County (ETJ)