Slider Accent

Development Services


Jeff Ruggieri
Director of Development Services




About Us 
Welcome to the City of New Bern's Department of Development Services. Our offices are located at 303 First Street.  Our primary focus is providing assistance to the community in developing plans, ordinances, implementing projects, and administering codes that produce orderly growth while maintaining community character and New Bern’s small town charm.

The City of New Bern has prepared its Draft for the FY 2019-2023 Five Year Consolidated Plan and FY 2019 Annual Action plan. These plans are required by HUD so the City can receive its Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds. The City has retained a planning consulting firm, Urban Design Ventures, LLC, to assist in the preparation of these planning documents.  Surveys identifying resources and unmet needs have been collected and the information is being evaluated.  For questions or information on these plans, please contact D’Aja Fulmore, Community Development Coordinator via email or by phone at (252) 639-7586.

* NEW The City of New Bern has suspended the sale of City owned properties as of 01/09/18

Check out our Surplus City of New Bern Property website.

Citizen volunteers are important to this Department’s mission. Our staff provides support to four citizen boards: Planning and Zoning Board, Board of Adjustment, Historic Preservation Commission, and the Greater Duffyfield Residents Council. If you are interested in volunteering or have questions and comments, please contact Development Services.

Contact Us
303 First Street, PO Box 1129
New Bern, NC 28563
>> Map to our location 
Click here to contact Development Services today,
or call us at:
Planning: (252) 639-7581
Inspections: (252) 639-2942
Planning Fax: (252) 636-2146
Inspections Fax: (252) 635-4973

Jeff Ruggieri, AICP
Director of Development Services
(252) 639-7587

Jennifer Mayo
Administrative Assistant
(252) 639-7581

Seth Laughlin
Land & Community Dev. Administrator
(252) 639-7582

Matt Schelly
City Planner
(252) 639-7583
Nadia Abdul-Hadi
(252) 639-7585

Alice Wilson
GIS Manager
(252) 639-7588
 Kim Maxey
MPO Administrator
(252) 639-7592

Felicia McRee
MPO Creative Technician 
(252) 639-7293

Community & Economic Development  
Amanda Ohlensehlen
Community & Economic Development Manager
(252) 639-7580

D'Aja Fulmore
Community Development Coordinator
(252) 639-7586

Matt Boswell
Chief Building Inspector
(252) 639-2945

Janey Anderson
Office Assistant & Permits
(252) 639-2942

Patrick Ezel
Building Inspector I
(252) 639-2943

Emmit Giddings
Building Inspector II
(252) 639-2948

Jeff Holzbach
Building Inspector II
(252) 639-2951

Nancy Johnston
Nuisance Abatement Officer
(252) 639-2944

 David Spruill
Building Inspector I
(252) 639-7589